Uncategorized

Help! How to manage your reading and get out of a slump! 

Summers nearly over and had planned to really catch up on my goal and my reading before I head back to work and college but I seem to have put myself in a slump with planning so much reading! I just can’t seem to sit down and read there’s always something else I want to do and it’s making me really deprived from my books. 


I have tried to do a reading journal which I like but I just can’t pick up a book long enough to read what I need to read. At first I thought it was because I was trying to read multiple books at once and I don’t know whether that is the case or not so I’m gonna try and go back to originally reading one book. However then I feel that I am not going to reach my goal or meet deadlines.

I need help!!

How do you get out of a reading slump?

If you read multiple books at once how do you manage it?

If you only read one book at a time how do you read enough to meet deadlines or sit down and read as I want to read more!! 

18 thoughts on “Help! How to manage your reading and get out of a slump! 

  1. Getting out of a reading slump is tricky. I usually try to pick up something completely new, rather than something that’s been sitting on my shelf for a while waiting to be read (which sounds silly, but sometimes it works). Or try reading something that’s short so I feel accomplished when it’s finished, but it’s easier to finish, too!

    I read multiple books all of the time – and some of them take forever to read. But that’s because I’m not all that invested in the first place, so I’d take a while to read that book anyway, because of my own interest level. I think it’s helpful to have multiple books going, because then you can take a break from something that is to intense/emotional or is dragging too much or you’re just not hook on yet and read something for fun. That way reading doesn’t feel like a chore. 🙂

    Also, if you wanted, you might try rereading one of your favorites again. Sometimes you just need to get invested in something again.

    Hope you get our of your reading slump soon! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think everyone has their own way of getting out of a reading slump. Sometimes I pick up graphic novels to get the reading slump off, sometimes I’ll pick up a cheesy New Adult book that’s easy and quick, or sometimes I just embrace the slump for what it is. You have to just see what works for you. I know for some people, rereading a favorite book works. If you’re trying to read multiple books at once, maybe try to finish the shorter ones? Idk I hope I helped a bit!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If I’m reading a book that takes me too long, I will start another one. Usually I do that until one catches my interest. I normally can’t stand reading a book one at a time because I need breaks but don’t want to stop reading. So I usually have 3 at a time…but then I focus on the one I get more sucked into in the moment. Once that’s done. I pick up one of the others and start reading it again…and then maybe start a new book. After doing that a couple of times. I get unhappy that one or two books haven’t progressed, so I pick up the one that I’ve been barely reading and just focus on that. Because of this strategy, I get a LOT of reading done. I’m just finishing one that I had started awhile ago…and now it will move off my shelf. I will have one left, but it won’t be lonely long because I’ll start reading another one!
    Some people, like E.C. and I, can do this successfully. Some people can’t. It helps if the books are incredibly different from each other (it has been so far one fantasy, one science fiction, and one middle grade that I promised to read but bores me…but I finished the fantasy a couple days ago, and I’m almost done with the science fiction…so I may pick up the middle grade and finish that too, since it’s nice to have a clean shelf for a minute).
    But playing musical books can be quite helpful and renew your love of reading. It stimulates your mind because you’re switching around…I think you can handle it. Just start one until you start putting off picking it up, and pick up a new one. Having Goodreads helps so I can keep track of what was going on in the book in my status updates.
    Sorry for the ramble: I hoped it helped, though!! 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get out of reading slumps by reading two or more books at a time from different genres. Whichever one clicks first is usually the book that helps pull me out of my funk. I made it a point to read multiple books at a time even since the awful slump I was in from March until almost May. It was the worst. I hope you find something that works for you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When reading slumps hit, I usually pause all my reads and do other things that I love doing–like watching movies and playing computer games or anything. That way, it makes me miss reading. Lol. So I usually get back to reading again after diverting my mind to other things ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think the best thing to do is not stress yourself out. Trying to hurry and read books to meet deadlines sometimes makes me not even wanna read, just because I can’t enjoy it when I’m rushing and stressing like that. Of course everyone has their own ways to get out of a reading slump, but maybe slowing down and taking a breather will help you. Also, you could try something from a different genre than what you’ve been reading recently. These are some of things that help me, so maybe they’ll help you too. I hope so. And good luck!
    I’d be interested in hearing how you get out of your slump when you do! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I guess you just have to force yourself to read 10 minutes a day and don’t move until you’re done 😂 books slumps really suck. A lot of people suggest rereading your favorites but this doesn’t really help me because I already know what happens. I usually need something very unique, fast-paced, and exciting to get me out of the slump

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

